Keeping myself busy during the pre-launch slump.

I’ve gone as far as deactivating my account. The new dungeon holds no interest for me so I don’t see the need for paying a subscription for a game that I’ll only play again in a few months. This means I’ve had to find alternative distractions since even alting is off-limits to me now.

So what can one do once the shakes from withdrawal settles down? Well I’ve been splitting my time between PC games and my XBox, with the XBox getting a bit more attention than normal.

My XBox lineup:

  • #1: Forza 3: I’ve gone back to this game to get my driver level 50 and R1 WorldChampionship complete. Currently lvl 49 and 3 races into the last championship.
  • #2: Red Dead Redemption: Probably the best non-MMO I’ve played in years. I’m taking my sweet time with it and won’t be rushed to the end before I have all the sub-quests completed.
  • #3: Final Fantasy XIII: Not as fun as the old VI and VII Playstation versions, but still good enough to give a play through. Could have done with less cutscene and more customisation.

My PC lineup: (in no particular order)

  • Runescape: Started this last night. It’s a bit laggy on my slow dsl line, but playable and seems to have a lot of character growth available. I’ll be giving this a fair chance over the next few weeks.
  • Hydorah: Awesome side-scrolling spaceship game done in true 8-bit style with tons of powerups and shields. Great fun. Also have a look at the developer’s other 8-bit adventures. (Edit: site seems to be down at the moment)
  • Flash games: There’s tons of them all over the web but the one that got my attention the most in the last week was Wallace and Gromit’s Sprocket Rocket. Give it a try, it’s worth it. Another is a racing management sim called Formulawan. Originally a french game, they’ve been working hard to convert it and improve on some areas.
  • Torn City: It’s a text-based online RPG where the aim is to commit crimes, mug, steal, etc to get ahead. I’ve been playing this one for almost a year and it’s proven to be addictive and fun, but not a timesink.

There’s a few other distractions, but these are the top ones at the moment. Oh, and a few web-comics that I’ll go over some other time. A special mention should probably go out to Plants vs. Zombies though, always a good fall-back game.

What games do you play when you’re bored with WoW? Comments appreciated.

Explore posts in the same categories: Alt-erior Motives, Bored!, Final Fantasy, MMO

2 Comments on “Keeping myself busy during the pre-launch slump.”

  1. Stabs Says:

    I play Eve, Age of Conan and DDO.

    Eve is totally different from the standard MMOs, more like Master of Orion or one of those old space 4X games.

    Age of Conan is rather like WoW was in 2005.

    DDO is almost entirely dungeon based and group based and of course is now free to play.

  2. b0bbly Says:

    I’ve downloaded EVE and will probably give the trial a shot in the next few days.
    AoC I played when it launched and it was horribly buggy.
    DDO I’ve heard of, but not played yet. Might give it a try, I like dungeoncrawlers.
    Thanks for the list :)
    Ooh, forgot to add the fact that I’m also playing D2 online again!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

