BA topic: Helping newbies.

I actually commented op someone else’s blogpost on how he hates newbies in lower dungeons last night and when I saw the BA topic my reply was startlingly on the mark.

I’m leveling a rogue, mostly through questing because I love the lore and want to capture Azeroth in my memory one last time before Cataclysm rips it all up. I do do about 2-3 random dungeons a level too, just to keep my gear and dps competitive. And during these dungeons it amazes me that some people manage to even get to level 30, never mind 80. I’ve had warriors “tanking” with their fists, warlocks meleeing, a mage that I had to shout “Fireball!” at every time I wanted him to cast something, healers in bear form and Sylvanas knows what else. Eventually I get so frustrated I end up soloing the rest of the instance (thank goodness for hardcore rogues at low levels and lots of twinking).

Then every now and again you get a gem. A guy that, through all the absolute ignorance, mispulling and general mayhem, asks an intelligent question. I had a hunter in a SM:Graveyard run the other night. His pet was doing more damage than him by miles and because the pet was mostly on passive the priest healer was outdamaging his pet. I mentioned to the priest that I liked his damage and so the hunter wanted to know how I could see what others were putting out. I explained Recount to him and we started chatting in /w, where he mentioned that it was his first character.

Now I have 2 hunters, one at lvl 80 and the other at 73, and I love BM. I noticed his spec was BM too, which for soloing is usually the easier choice for beginners. His points were spent wrong though so I gave him a few tips on respeccing for faster solo grinding as well as some tips on endgame specs (Which will probably be obsolete by the time he gets to 80). We chatted about the way he engages mobs and getting more out of the time he had on the mobs. By the end of the run he was matching my dps.

A week later I got into a group with him again by pure luck. He greeted and thanked me for my help. His spec was tweaked, his pet had been replaced and he was ripping me to shreds on Recount. He might still be a noob to the game in general, but to his little hunter world he’s a noob no more.

Makes me all warm inside really :)

Explore posts in the same categories: Alt-erior Motives, BA Shared Topic, Itasu, Theorycrafting, World of Warcraft

3 Comments on “BA topic: Helping newbies.”

  1. Jaedia Says:

    Aww, I love it when you help a newbie and they actually listen and appreciate it ^^
    Also nice that you were able to see his changes and the way he compared to you, sometimes I help people in /2 because “lol urmum” isn’t really a decent answer, and it’s a shame I never really see how they improve.

    • b0bbly Says:

      Yeah it is nice to be able to see the progress in a newbie. It’s rare but when it happens it makes u warm inside. I wish I had the same treatment when I started to play but of course when I did start we were all newbies :p
      I sometimes invite fresh lowbies into my raiding guild on a gut feeling if I had good experiences with them in a random or helping out on a quest. Mostly this fails but you get that odd occasion where the person turns out to be a fast learner and a genuine asset to the guild at a later stage (One of my best officers as proof of this fact).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

